Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Sous la grêle osée
3 novembre 2009

The Writing on My Forehead

The_Writing_on_my_Forehead

http://harpercollins.com/books/9780061493850/The_Writing_on_My_Forehead/index.aspx

From childhood, willful, intelligent Saira Qader broke the boundaries between her family's traditions and her desire for independence. A free-spirited and rebellious Muslim-American of Indo-Pakistani descent, she rejected the constricting notions of family, duty, obligation, and fate, choosing instead to become a journalist, the world her home.

Five years later, tragedy strikes, throwing Saira's life into turmoil. Now the woman who chased the world to uncover the details of other lives must confront the truths of her own. In need of understanding, she looks to the stories of those who came before—her grandparents, a beloved aunt, her mother and father. As Saira discovers the hope, pain, joy, and passion that defined their lives, she begins to face what she never wanted to admit—that choice is not always our own, and that faith is not just an intellectual preference.

This book I liked a lot. I did not know what to read, and my sister recommended this one. And she also told me to write something about it in my blog. I never know what to write (and this is no exception), that's why I haven't written any book "review" in a while.

I did not think I would finish the book, but after three chapters or so, I got more and more interested. Like I said before, I always enjoy reading about how other people live. And in this book, I got just that: a lot of "culture". My favorite part was the relationship between Saira and her cousin, Mohsin. I believe Nafisa Haji could have written a lot more about it. Towards the end of the book, it seems she skips through some events that I feel would have made the book even greater. Sometimes, 306 pages are not enough.

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
N
Je le lirai dès que je serai prête mentalement. Tu vois ce que je veux dire...
Répondre
Sous la grêle osée
Publicité
goodreads
2023 Reading Challenge
Jackie has completed her goal of reading 60 books in 2023!
hide
Archives
Derniers commentaires
Publicité