Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Sous la grêle osée
10 novembre 2009

The Eyre Affair

The_Eyre_Affair

 

I finally finished reading The Eyre Affair I first read about (I think) on Alicia's blog. Even though I have never been a fan of science fiction, the idea of a literary detective and people travelling inside books somehow appealed to me. Some of Jason Fforde's finds are pure genius (the ChronoGuards and a pet dodo!), even though I did not care much for the Rosettionery, the translating carbon paper, Thursday Next's uncle invented. It does not work very well if Jason Fforde used it to translate the sentences in French at the end of the book. "Si vous changez votre avis, contactez-moi par les petites annonces du Grenouille. Je lis toujours les archives."

I read Jane Eyre a long time ago, but I was certain she married Rochester. It drove me nuts to read that at the end of the book, Jane Eyre never marries Rochester and moves to India. I was wondering if I somehow had read another version of the book. Silly me! That was just part of the plot. Come on, it's just a book! But I had to check on Wikipedia to make sure I was not totally senile. I can confirm I am not. Anyway, I loved this book. Can't wait to read some more.

Now, did Shakespeare really write the plays?

 

L_affaire_Jane_Eyre

 

Je craque pour la couverture française.

 

 

 

 

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
L
Il est chou et très réjouissant, ce bouquin, j'avais bien accroché aussi.
Répondre
J
Elle est un peu de coin quand même !
Répondre
N
Chouette ta bannière !
Répondre
N
Home Cloning Kit: trop drôle. Je le lirai peut-être un jour. Idem pour Jane Eyre.
Répondre
Sous la grêle osée
Publicité
goodreads
2023 Reading Challenge
Jackie has completed her goal of reading 60 books in 2023!
hide
Archives
Derniers commentaires
Publicité