Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Sous la grêle osée
27 avril 2013

Killing Willis (Todd Bridges)

Killing Willis

The former child star—best known as Willis Jackson on Diff’rent Strokes—shares the shocking but inspirational details of his struggles with addiction, brushes with the law, and fierce fight to carve a path through the darkness and find his true identity.

For Todd Bridges early stardom was no protection from painful childhood events that paved the road to his own personal hell. One of the first African-American child actors on shows like Little House on the Prairie, The Waltons, and Roots, Bridges burst to the national forefront on the hit sitcom Diff’rent Strokes as the subject of the popular catchphrase, "What’chu Talkin About Willis?" When the show ended, Bridges was overwhelmed by the off-camera traumas he had faced. Turning to drugs as an escape, he soon lost control.

Now, for the first time, Bridges opens up about his life before and after Diff’rent Strokes: the incredible reversals of fortune brought on by fame and the precipitous—and very public—descent that followed; the persecution from police; the drug addiction that nearly consumed him; the criminal charges that almost earned him a life sentence; and his successful legal defense led by Johnnie Cochran. Through it all, Bridges never relented in his quest to fight his way back from the abyss, establish his own identity—separate from Willis Jackson—and offer his ordeal as a positive example for those struggling to overcome similar challenges. His triumphant story of recovery and redemption is recounted here as well.

Todd Bridges has lived a life of remarkable twists and turns—from the greatest heights to the lowest lows imaginable. In this shocking but ultimately hopeful memoir, he proves that what he was really talking about was survival.

J'ai lu ce livre par curiosité (évidemment). Je me demandais comment Todd Bridges (le petit garçon que j'avais vu dans La petite maison dans la prairie, dans Racines et surtout dans Arnold et Willy. Il n'y avait pas beaucoup de noirs à la télé française : donc, impossible de ne pas le remarquer.) allait expliquer sa présence constante dans la rubrique des faits divers (et dans la chute de bien des blagues) pour des affaires de drogue surtout. Je fais partie de ces gens qui ne comprennent pas l'intérêt de la drogue (de l'alcool non plus vous me direz) ou sur qui les différentes campagnes contre elle ont fait de l'effet. Ou tout simplement à cause de cet épisode de Kojak, vu dans les années 70, où le lieutenant emmène son neveu, qui lui soutient I'm no junkie. I can stop anytime I want to. I got no habit. (J'avais vu l'épisode en français à l'époque.), voir des drogués pour lui montrer son avenir et l'un d'entre eux (qui avait un afro pas possible) lui répond I can kick it anytime I want. Dans l'épisode, il y avait aussi quelques scènes terribles de désintoxication du neveu où on lui fait ingurgiter du chocolat (je ne savais pas à l'époque qu'il s'agissait probablement de Hershey's) et du jus d'oranges. Mais revenons à Todd Bridges (qui n'est pas dans l'épisode) et à son livre.

Au tout début, j'ai eu l'impression qu'il se cherchait beaucoup d'excuses. Et puis, au fur et à mesure de son récit, on constate qu'il a tout de même des circonstances atténuantes : un père alcoolique et violent, un ami de la famille pédophile, le racisme auquel il doit faire face une fois arrivé à Los Angeles, dans son quartier comme sur les lieux de tournage... Pas étonnant qu'il soit un peu détraqué. Finalement, il parle très peu de Diff'rent Strokes, mais on apprend que ses relations avec sa « sœur » n'étaient pas aussi chastes que dans le feuilleton, que celles avec son « frère » se sont dégradées après la deuxième saison quand l'attitude de Gary Coleman (et surtout celle de ses parents) a totalement changé. Et puis, Todd Bridges découvre la drogue. S'ensuivent des descriptions de ses trips au fur et à mesure de ses expérimentations, les moyens qu'il utilise pour obtenir de la drogue, ses trafics lorsqu'il devient dealer. Certains passages sont vraiment écœurants. J'étais un peu dégoûtée par la façon dont il traite les femmes et comment il les « soumet » par la drogue pour obtenir des faveurs sexuelles. Apparemment, ses crimes moraux sont plus faciles à admettre que ses crimes légaux.

En tout cas, j'étais pressée qu'il en termine avec son énième tentative de désintoxication, son énième passage au tribunal... Qu'on se rassure, ça se termine évidemment sur une note optimiste (on doit inspirer les lecteurs).

Evidemment, je ne m'attendais pas à des révélations fracassantes, mais c'était plutôt intéressant à lire.

Un passage bien hollywoodien :

At about the same time, I almost got a part in another teen movie that would have been even bigger. I was on a plane, and I happened to sit next to John Hughes. He had just had a big hit in 1984 with Sixteen Candles, so I was well aware of who he was. We got to talking, and we immediately hit it off.

"I love you," he said. "You have so much personality. I want to work with you."

Of course I wanted to work with him, too.

"I'm doing a movie called The Breakfast Club," he said. "And I want you to be in the movie. I'm going to set up a meeting for you in LA."

I was so excited about the movie, and I figured that from what he had said, it was a sure thing. When I got back to LA, I had a meeting with one of his associates. I went into the office, and I sat down across from the guy.

"Hmmm," he said.

He looked at me for a long time. I had no idea what was coming next.

"I just don't see how to put a black character in this film," he said.

"You write for blacks the same way you write for whites," I said.

I was stunned. Even with as much racism as I experienced over the years, it still shocked me when I was faced with it, especially from a person who otherwise seemed intelligent and open-minded. I got out of there as quickly as I could. Obviously, I wasn't in The Breakfast Club.

I should have been in The Breakfast Club. How are you going to have kids in detension, and there aren't any black kids in detention? I mean, come on. I'm over it now, but I was bitter about that for a long time. It was the perfect moment in my career for me to land a part like that, and if I had been in The Breakfast Club, it would have made me into a major movie star, like it did for so many of the actors in that film. But I wasn't like the other actors in that film. I was black. It was really frustrating to be denied the chance to show off my talents and work ethic and dedication to my craft simply because of the color of my skin.

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
B
He bien voilà un livre dont je n'étais pas au courant !<br /> <br /> Merci de l'avoir lu et merci de ton avis honnête sur la question !
Répondre
V
Je ne savais pas qu'il avait joué dans La petite maison dans la prairie. Moi, ce sont deux épisodes des La petite Maison dans la prairie qui m'ont marquée concernant le sevrage: celui où Charles enferme son fils dans une cabane pour qu'il arrête la drogue.
Répondre
N
Je me demande quel rôle il aurait eu dans "The Breakfast Club". Sinon, intéressant ce bouquin...
Répondre
Sous la grêle osée
Publicité
goodreads
2023 Reading Challenge
Jackie has completed her goal of reading 60 books in 2023!
hide
Archives
Derniers commentaires
Publicité