Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Sous la grêle osée
15 mai 2007

The Good Husband of Zebra Drive (Alexander McCall Smith)

The_Good_Husband_of_Zebra_Drive

This eighth installment in the No. 1 Ladies Detective series is just as attaching and witty as the previous ones. The traditionally built (this expression always cracks me up, especially since all the characters keep using it in various situations) Mma Ramotswe has to deal with mysterious deaths at a hospital, Mma Makutsi's wish to advance her career, and J.L.B. Matekoni's (the good husband of Zebra Drive) decision to lead his own inquiry into a husband's suspected infidelity.

 

I don't know what to say about this book, because I just loved it. The characters in this series are always touching, the titles always seem poetic. How could you not want to read a book called The Kalahari Typing School for Men? I was attracted by this title, and that's how I discovered the series. The situations described are not at all original, they are just so universal, and sometimes that's all you need to get away. And Mma Ramotswe's love for her country is so sincere, it is very moving.

All I know is that I want to visit Botswana(even though it is said that Botswana has changed a lot since Smith was there) and I have to try bush tea!

Not much of a book "review" this one, I'm afraid. Some books you just can't explain.

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Sous la grêle osée
Publicité
goodreads
2023 Reading Challenge
Jackie has completed her goal of reading 60 books in 2023!
hide
Archives
Derniers commentaires
Publicité