Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Sous la grêle osée
16 août 2007

A Loyal Character Dancer (Qiu Xiaolong)

A_Loyal_Character_Dancer  11479829_p

 

Very interesting book! And I have never seen the expression "face loss" used so many times. I knew this was something very important in the Chinese culture (I've heard it so much from my Chinese friend), but everything seems to be an opportunity to lose face. To me, it makes for a very complicated life, even if some situations seem funny and totally harmless. Anyway, this book gives an excellent insight into the Chinese culture and interpersonal relationships in China, and about the Cultural Revolution, particularly the educated youth who were sent to the country by Mao after high school. The loyal character dancer is one of them; she left Shanghai enthusiastically, because she had faith in Mao, to learn from the peasants. She ends up a factory worker and a peasant married to an abusive husband, who blames her for all his problems.

I enjoyed this book very much because of the description of Shanghai which seems like an amazing city, of politics, and everyday life in China(like the housing scarcity that reminded me of a very funny anecdote my Chinese friend told me). Shangai might not be typically Chinese though ;)… The plot is quite good, and the collaboration between a Chinese inspector and a U.S. marshal is well thought. I will read other books by Qiu Xiaolong.

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Sous la grêle osée
Publicité
goodreads
2023 Reading Challenge
Jackie has completed her goal of reading 60 books in 2023!
hide
Archives
Derniers commentaires
Publicité